Vision and leadership for developing and implementing information technology initiatives

Chief Information Officer

Subscribe to Chief Information Officer: eMailAlertsEmail Alerts newslettersWeekly Newsletters
Get Chief Information Officer: homepageHomepage mobileMobile rssRSS facebookFacebook twitterTwitter linkedinLinkedIn

Women in Technology (WIT), the premiere organization empowering women to be architects of change in the technology industry, today announced the finalists for the 11th Annual Women in Technology Leadership Awards. WIT will recognize 39 finalists across 10 categories. Winners will be announced at a special awards ceremony on May 20, 2010 at the Ritz Carlton, Tysons Corner.

The finalists for the 11th Annual Women in Technology Leadership Awards are:

Corporate Commercial Large Business


Deborah James, Senior Vice President and Business Unit General Manager, SAIC

Jennifer Kitchen, Senior Vice President of Research, CoStar Group

Colleen Oresky, Director of Innovative Technology Office, SAIC

Christine Schaefer, Vice President, Marketing, DLT Solutions


Corporate Commercial Small Business


Maura Colleton Corbett, Partner, Qorvis Communications, LLC

Laurie Freeman, COO, Lore Systems

Maria Everhart Gaboury, Vice President, Healthcare Solutions, DefenseWeb Technologies, Inc.

Gazelle Hashemian, President, Paragon Technology Group, Inc.


Corporate Public Sector Large Business


Deborah Dowling, Vice President and Division Manager, Homeland Security Solutions, SAIC

Melinda (Mindy) Gallo Eckman, Senior Manager, Capture, Northrop Grumman Corporation

Diane B. Gongaware, Director of Operations, Civilian Agencies, Cisco Systems, Inc.

Wendy Martin, Director, Business Development, Harris Corporation


Corporate Public Sector Small Business


Lisa Kazor, President & CEO, Savantage Solutions

Carolyn Merek, CEO & President, eMentum, Inc.

Ola Sage, President & CEO, e-Management

Mary Ann Wagner, President & CEO, XIO Strategies




Paula Armentrout, Co-Founder & Vice President, Parabon Computation, Inc.

Lynn Ann Casey, CEO, Arc Aspicio

Jennifer L. Coolidge, President and Founder, Nexus Systems, Inc.

Dede Haskins, CEO and President, NewVision Health, Inc.




Lisa M. Davis, Assistant Director/CIO, Department of Justice, United States Marshals Service

Jo Ann Jenkins, Chief Operating Officer, Library of Congress

Paulette Robinson, Ph.D., Assistant Dean for Teaching, Learning & Technology, iCollege, National Defense University

Isabel FitzGerald, Chief Information Officer, State of Maryland, Department of Human Resources


Health IT


Teresa Carlson, Vice President, Microsoft Federal, Microsoft Corporation

Dr. Claire M. Fraser-Liggett, Director, Institute for Genome Sciences at the University of Maryland School of Medicine

Susan Penfield, Officer, Booz Allen Hamilton


Global Impact


Susan C. Aldridge, Ph.D., President, University of Maryland University College

Lana Bian, Director, Marketing Communications, China Telecom Americas

Siobhan Green, CEO & Lead Technology Strategist and Information Architect, Sonjara

Dr. Julie Rosen, Assistant Vice President & Senior Scientist, SAIC


Unsung Hero


Jennifer Freed, Navy Marine Corps Intranet (NMCI) Service Delivery Integrated Product Team Manager, NMCI Program Office, Department of the Navy

Kathleen Furlong, Director, Business Development Operations, Avaya Government Solutions

Sandra Nickerson, Senior Principal, SRA International

Karla Prudom, Field Service Engineer, Afghanistan Country Lead, SAIC


Rising Star


Michelle Czirjak, Associate, Booz Allen Hamilton

Katherine Tobin, Associate, Booz Allen Hamilton

Sara VanAllman, Project Manager, Northrop Grumman Corporation

Jhaymee Wilson, Project Manager, CACI International


The annual awards program honors leading female professionals working in the Greater Washington D.C. metropolitan area who have exemplified unique vision and talent in the technology industry during the previous year.

“The scope of talent and achievements evident in this year’s crop of nominations far surpassed our expectations,” said Toni Towns-Whitley, president of WIT. “The decision-making process was incredibly difficult, as the stories of leadership and personal triumph of the nominees were inspiring and laudable and I would like to congratulate them all on their outstanding achievements.”

For more information on purchasing tickets to the event, please visit or contact Julie Murphy at (703) 584-5634 or [email protected].

Find us on Facebook at

Follow WIT on Twitter at and the Leadership Awards at #WITAwards.

About Women in Technology

Women in Technology (WIT) is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to offering women involved in all levels of the technology industry a wide range of professional development and networking opportunities. One of the organization's main goals is to create a forum where women in technology can be recognized and promoted as role models. The organization’s values are embodied in its tag line: Connect. Lead. Succeed. WIT was founded in 1994 and has nearly 1,000 members. For more information, please visit WIT’s web site,

More Stories By Business Wire

Copyright © 2009 Business Wire. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Business Wire content is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Business Wire. Business Wire shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.